DUI First Penalty
DUI First Infraction
A DUI can carry with it serious implications for a person’s future. Even a first time offense can carry harsh penalties. We at the Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata are experienced in all of the laws and penalties, and will provide the best defense for a first time DUI charge.
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 484C.400 and 484C.110 cover first time DUI offenders. A first offense is a misdemeanor. For the charge to be considered a first offense it must be the only DUI a person has gotten in seven years. The first thing many people worry about is how much the charge will end up costing them.
- The statutory fine related to a first DUI penalty cannot be lower than four-hundred dollars, but cannot exceed one-thousand dollars.
- Those facing their first penalty must attend a Nevada DUI school. These prices vary.
- Attending a Nevada Victim Impact Panel is another mandatory penalty. These panels features victims and family members of victims of DUI related accidents.
- Penalties can be doubled if the crime happened in a work zone.
Fines and costly classes could be the least of many people’s worries. There is a real chance you could do jail time.
- A term of imprisonment can be imposed for two days or up to six months. NRS 484C.320 may allow a first offender to attend diversion classes instead of being sentenced. Community service of forty-eight to ninety-six hours can substitute for jail time.
- NRS 484C.430 states that if substantial bodily harm or death occurs due to the DUI then the crime can be charged as a Category B felony. This carries with it imprisonment between two and twenty years and a fine of $2,000 to $5,000.
Whatever penalty a person is given they may also lose their license for ninety days. See DMV hearing link. They may get a restricted license after forty-five days. First time penalties can be very harsh. The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata can help you navigate through this difficult process.