DUI Second Penalty
DUI Second Infraction
A DUI charge carries with it serious consequences. Anyone who is on their second DUI offense knows very well how stiff penalties can be. The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata has experience in all DUI laws, and we will provide the best defense possible.
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 484C.400 and 484C.110 cover second DUI offenses. For a second offense to apply it must be the second DUI a person has gotten in a seven year period. This is considered a misdemeanor. There are serious financial implications for a second DUI charge.
- Fines for a second DUI in seven years range from $750 to $1,000, or can be supplemented by community service.
- A Nevada Victim Impact Panel may cost about fifty dollars. Victims and family members tell of their past losses due to DUI offenders.
- Alcohol and drug dependency evaluation. Cost may vary.
- An alcohol and drug treatment program must be attended. This is a rigorous time-consuming program that may cost thousands of dollars.
- Fines can be doubled if the DUI was cited in a work zone.
Jail time can also be a likely outcome of a second DUI. Depending on the sentence and circumstances a person can be confined for a very long time.
- A second DUI can lead to imprisonment from ten days to six months. A person may also receive house arrest for this length of time.
- If substantial bodily harm or death occurs due to a DUI then it can be charged as a Category B felony. NRS 484C.430 allows for a sentence ranging from two to twenty years. This enhancement also carries with it a fine of $2,000 to $5,000.
The suspension of the offender’s license for one year is another possible penalty for a second DUI. See DMV hearing link. The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata knows that a DUI can be detrimental to a person’s life. We will make sure you have the best defense possible.