DUI Third Penalty
DUI Third Infraction
Anyone who has received a DUI knows that there are harsh consequences related to the charge. A person who has received their third DUI in seven years is in a much worse situation than first and second time offenders. A third DUI is charged as a Category B felony.
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 484C.400 and 484C.110 cover third DUI offenses. If you’re charged with a third DUI offense in a seven year period the financial penalties far exceed the penalties you faced on your second and third charge.
- Fines are imposed ranging from $2,000 to $5,000.
- A Nevada Victim Impact Panel must be attended. Victims and family members of DUI related accidents tell how their lives were affected by drunk drivers. This may cost fifty dollars.
- Alcohol and drug dependency evaluation must be undergone. This will cost one-hundred dollars or more.
- Alcohol and drug treatment must also be undergone. This program can last one year and may potentially cost thousands of dollars.
Jail time becomes a serious concern when a third DUI is charged. NRS 484C.340 may be possible to help a person stay out of jail if they are declared an alcoholic or drug addict by a clinician; otherwise penalties are steep.
- Imprisonment for a third DUI can range from one year to six years.
- NRS 484C.430 states that if serious bodily harm or death occurs due to the DUI then you can be sentenced to a term ranging from two years to twenty years.
A third DUI offense also carries with it a three year suspension or revocation of a person’s license. See DMV hearing link. It is also the proverbial “straw that broke the camel’s back” if the person receives another DUI and causes a death due to it. These are very serious consequences and no one should face the legal system alone in this situation. The Law Offices of Garrett T. Ogata will do its utmost to get the optimal outcome on your third DUI.